Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Wildlife Management / Food Plots
First time food plot - Clover - Oats >

First time food plot - Clover - Oats

Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

First time food plot - Clover - Oats

Old 09-06-2013, 06:41 AM
Spike

Default First time food plot - Clover - Oats

Like others, I am new to food plots. This year I wanted to put a small winter plot on a powerline. I have had this spot disced/Sprayed for about the last 3 weeks and was chomping at the bit to get some seed in the ground. I am in West Tennessee with milder winters. I feel I got the Clover in just right; providing at least 2 months to establish prior to winter.

With Bow season the 4th Saturday in September, I wanted to get the deer using the plot in time for the opener. I put in some oats as well and am wondering if I am too early for them. I want to have nice young tender greens through the winter and not older mature oats. I am second guessing my timing on the the oats and am wondering if my logic is right.

FYI - Seed was in the ground August 31 and watered the 1st.

Any insight would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails First time food plot - Clover - Oats-powerlineii.jpg  
Old 09-06-2013, 09:37 AM
Spike

Perfect timing...I plant oats,crimson clover, austrian winter peas,winter rye,winter wheat mixed in the same plot.
Old 09-07-2013, 09:46 AM
Spike

You should get a good winter plot out of it. In the north, the only of those that stays green into winter is rye, but in Tennessee I imagine you'll like your results based on the goals you stated. Send a pic in another month so we can see!
Old 09-08-2013, 12:08 PM
Spike