HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Wildlife Management / Food Plots (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots-11/)
-   -   To late for Clover?? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots/381813-late-clover.html)

Deepsouthdeerjunky 05-28-2013 02:44 PM

To late for Clover??

I just got home for the summer from college an I was hopeing to get an opinion on a summer clover pot. We have never had the opportunity to plant summer food plots before so I am a rookie in tht regard. Would it be too late to try and plant some clover for summer forage in central alabama? I know spring is ideal but we r expecting rain over the next few days and if I'm goin to do it now is the time

hossdaniels 05-29-2013 09:00 AM

Yes, too late now and even spring isn't real good. Fall is the ideal time. Plant it in late september for best results.

tim03b 06-10-2013 05:46 PM

Why is it better to plant it in fall?

North22 06-11-2013 11:25 AM

Originally Posted by tim03b
Why is it better to plant it in fall?

Less weed competition in the fall. The following spring the (perrenial) clover then has a head start on other weed seeds, therefore a better chance to outcompete and thrive... I have planted clover plots in the spring and had good results, but they typically require more maintenance than if fall planted

Posted from Huntingnet.com App for Android

tim03b 06-11-2013 02:58 PM

Thanks for the input! Much appreciated!

dbllunged 06-18-2013 12:11 PM

you could plant clover and then put something like winter wheat, oats, rye over the top of it. this way you will have a fall plot and in spring the clover will come nice too.

North22 06-19-2013 03:04 PM

Originally Posted by dbllunged (Post 4063385)
you could plant clover and then put something like winter wheat, oats, rye over the top of it. this way you will have a fall plot and in spring the clover will come nice too.