Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Tractor size.

Old 10-19-2012, 02:50 PM
EFH
Typical Buck

A small tractor is a lot stouter than you think! I have a 20hp kabota that takes care of all my plots...bush hoggin, disking. It takes a little longer to cut because of width but not lack of power. I just sold an old 12hp kabota, real tractor, that fit anywhere a 4wheeler would.
Old 12-19-2012, 01:13 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by snedd162
hey guys. i am not new to food plots but i am new to tractors so here is my dilemma. there is a field on my property hidden way back in the woods that is perfect for a nice kill plot. no more than 1/2 acre in size. only problem is it would be nearly impossible to get to with any decent size tractor. now this field hasn't been plowed or maintained in 20 years. my thought is to get a small sears suburban 12hp tractor that i know i can get in there with and start maintaining this field. i just don't know if it will have the power needed to not only mow the overgrown weeds and plow roughly a half acre of pretty hard soil. what do you guys think? will a 12hp sears suburban be enough?

thanks,
matt
hello mat I dont think the guys on here know what a suburban is its plenty of tractor you can find plows and harrows for them I have a couple of alis chalmers A 716 and 916 and they work just fine I have a single plow that I use first and then I hook up the rototiller to the back and till I have put in a few food plots it just takes time
Old 01-27-2013, 08:08 AM
Fork Horn

Get a 30HP tractor or use ATV implements..... tractors have tons of uses that im sure once you have it you'll wonder how you did it without it.... Look for like an older John deere 955 they are cheap and will do what your needing.
I wouldn't want to plow land with a 12hp lawn mower at 3 feet across at a time.