Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Questions on soybean planting

Old 04-07-2012, 02:14 PM
Typical Buck

Default Questions on soybean planting

I am going to put in about 5 acres Im not a farmer but have tractor plow discs can u plant soybeans with an old 2 row corn planter or has anybody attempted? trying to save money but will pay local farmer to seed if i have too Also heard there are soybean seeds that are round-up ready for spraying weeds any info on those so i dont look like an ass at feed store ty appreciate any help guys
Old 04-08-2012, 05:45 AM
Fork Horn

This is my first year planting beans also . Are you leaving them for the deer?Im going with Real World RR soy beans .I have read alot about Real Worl and Eagle beans .and seen side by side comparison and dicided to go with real world.As i under stand it is a mix of forage and Ag beans with two shatter resistant varieties so the beans wont open up and fall out early in the season. Im only doing 2 acres and going to electric fence for the first 2 months.. realworldwildlifeseed.com
Old 04-08-2012, 04:36 PM
Typical Buck

Yeah, but you need bean plates for your planter. If its a common planter you should be able to find them easily.

I also recommend roundup ready beans. Just try to keep the amount of roundup under 2 qts per acre, one qt/acre is usually plenty.
Old 04-09-2012, 09:16 AM
Spike

Eagle Seed beans are round up ready, we've used them for years and love them.

This is straight from their website:
"Up to: 42% protein,
3 times the leaf area,
2 times the plant height,
Thirteen tons of food per acre.
Excellent palatability and browsability,
drought, temperature and disease tolerance and,
provides long-season forage from spring to spring."
http://www.eagleseed.com/
Old 04-09-2012, 06:58 PM
Spike

you can plant with a old two row planter,