Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Food plot questions

Old 02-14-2012, 01:45 PM
Fork Horn

Default Food plot questions

Im new to the whole food plot thing, and i have a few questions.

1: I know there's deer around my area, Will they go out of there way to come to my food plot.

2: Whens the best time to plant?
Id like the deer to know where i food plot is and eat from it but i don't want it to be all eaten out by deer season.

3: whats the best seed/plant?
where I plan to plant is in the woods of Maine I don't know the ph levels or whatever.
I want something that will grow pretty much anywhere, or more forgiving on the ph levels and stuff like that.
Old 02-14-2012, 04:23 PM
Typical Buck

1. Yes, but very possibly after dark. Can depend on you, but on small properties your neighbors can make them nocturnal too.

2. Depends on what you plant.

3. Figure out the fertility and the pH and fix it. A half-hearted attempt is just throwing money away. A fertile field of weeds will do you more good than a high dollar buck on the bag seed mix thrown on unamended soil.
Old 02-14-2012, 05:40 PM
Fork Horn

1. Yes, and Hossdaniels is right about nocturnal deer.

2&3. Corn tolerates low pH (6.0 is preferred), but takes a fair amount of work to grow successfully. Peas/Oats mix (or oats alone) tolerate lower pH, plant in late summer (mid-August), but will die out at about 15-25 degrees. Winter rye or winter wheat will tolerate low pH, plant in mid-August to early September, and will survive the winter providing food until spring. In general, grasses do best in poor soil. If the ground is flooded, not much will work. Buy seed from a local ag supply business, they have varieties that will work in your area.
Old 02-15-2012, 03:55 PM
Nontypical Buck