Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

NY october planting suggestions?

Old 10-13-2009, 02:15 PM
Fork Horn

Default NY october planting suggestions?

I have accesss to a bunch of different seed products for wildlife and deer and right now I have a bag or two of tritical, wheat, a wildlife perfect mix (primarily brassica mix), and a high sugar rye grass and clover varietys mix product offered thru sucraseed dot com. . I also Have a bag of rye and buck forage oats. We planted some winter peas and triticale a month ago and it looks good. I am just getting into the food plot thing and was wondering if it was to late for the Buck Forage oats to go in? Or if I should just hold onto the stuff and plant it next year. I am planning on putting in the rye, wheat and tritical for cover crops this weekend.

I also want to plant chickory next year- when is an ideal time for this and what else have you had sucess planting it with?

Last edited by buckclub; 10-13-2009 at 02:17 PM.
Old 10-13-2009, 04:51 PM
Typical Buck

I had read on one of your earlier threads that you are located in NY just north of the PA border? If that is correct then it is getting a little late for oats. The oats are slower to sprout and grow than rye,triticale or wheat and you wouldn't get as much growth before the ground starts to freeze.

Same goes for the brassica mix, but you could take a gamble and "see what happens".

I have planted chicory both in the spring and late summer. I had much better luck with the late summer planting. Weeds can be a real problem with a spring planting. I planted the Puna II type with Alice White Clover and used oats as a nurse crop. Planted the end of Aug.
Old 10-13-2009, 07:02 PM
Nontypical Buck