Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Questions for the food plot experts

Old 06-23-2009, 12:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Questions for the food plot experts

Alright fellas, I need some help. I keep getting conflicting advice on what to do and when to do it.

I'm establishing a food plot on a new site. I've already gotten a soil sample, purchased my lime, purchased some herbicide, and purchased the seed I'm going to plant. My questions are these...

1. At what point(s) should I spray the herbicide?

2. When should I fertilize? Before I plant, when I plant, or after I plant?

3. When and how many times should I till the soil?

Thanks!
Old 06-23-2009, 12:59 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Questions for the food plot experts

Disclaimer: I’m no expert

You’re probably getting conflicting advice because there’s no one answer. But, I’ll give it a shot…
1. At lease three weeks before turning soil is my preference. This ensures that not only does the vegetation look dead, but the roots are completely dead as well. It just makes things easier. It’s particularly important if using a tiller.
2. All three are feasible, depending on different factors, but you may as well incorporate it into the soil when you work it.
3. That depends on how your soil works. If it’s soil that’s never been turned over before, I would figure a minimum of two, possibly more. But, your weeds/grass may not be as thick as they are around here.
Old 06-23-2009, 03:53 PM
Fork Horn

Well howdy here is another conflicting report.