Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

1st food plot

Old 05-16-2009, 02:06 PM
Fork Horn

Default 1st food plot

I saw a 1/2 price bag of Premium Perennial and thought I'd give it a go.This is my first attempt at a food plot. It's only 350' long and 8' to 10' wide but it's a start.

Old 05-16-2009, 02:57 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: 1st food plot

Looks good so far. Good luck hunting it this coming season.
Old 05-16-2009, 03:53 PM
Fork Horn

Looks great. How long ago did you plant it?
Old 05-16-2009, 07:35 PM
Fork Horn

I planted it March 24th.I'm pretty happy with it. Some of the brassicas are almost a foot tall.
Old 05-17-2009, 04:39 AM
Fork Horn

well it looks good. Now hope the deer like it.
Old 05-17-2009, 05:57 AM
Typical Buck

Nice looking plot flstnhd !! I see at least 4 different kinds of clover, brassicas (rape) and chicory. If that was mine I would clip the brassicas off. It is a good possibility the brassicas will shade and crowd out the clover which is outstanding as far as how it came up for you! Plus the brassicas will soon send up a yellow flowering seed head and die. Where as the clover and chicory could last 4 to 5 years. Either way you have great looking plot! And way to go in making wise use of a power line. If the deer don't hammer the clover and chicory, they oughta be shot!
Old 05-17-2009, 06:20 AM
Fork Horn

Thanks for the tip haystack. How do I go about clipping off the brassicas ? Hard to tell from the pics I put up but they seem to have come up in "clumps". I guess that's just how the seed came out of the spreader ?
Old 05-17-2009, 06:50 AM
Typical Buck