HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Wildlife Management / Food Plots (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots-11/)
-   -   Protein Feeder - trying to decide... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots/221196-protein-feeder-trying-decide.html)

npaden 12-05-2007 08:43 PM

Protein Feeder - trying to decide...

Well, I'm debating on whether or not to put a protein feeder up on my property or not and if so, I'm trying to decide which one to setup.

I put in 16 acres for a winter food plot this fall and now that we have actually gotten some moisture hopefully it is growing finally. I've been running a spin feeder with corn in it for a little over 6 months now and it works to get some pictures of the animals using the property, but I'm wondering about adding a protein feeder to help the bucks grow their antlers this spring. I figure adding one now would help the does develop healthier fawns come springtime also. From my trail camera pictures I know at least 1 buck seemed to have brittle antlers because he had over 1/2 of his knocked off before the rut really even got started this year.

From talking with my neighbors, they sound like they are shooting does and passing on younger bucks, but none of them are doing year round feeding or food plots. I've debated on just adding some soybeans to my spin feeder, but that would probably end up feeding more pigs and raccoons than deer. I started a deferrment on grazing my property as well. In some ways I feel like I might be getting ahead of myself starting a feeding program before I even see the effect of my food plots, however with the unpredictable nature of rainfall in the area I am thinking that having a feeder would help offset that.