HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Wildlife Management / Food Plots (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots-11/)
-   -   Government Habitat Programs (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots/198049-government-habitat-programs.html)

kshunter 07-17-2007 02:44 PM

Government Habitat Programs

I'm pretty new to all of this, so I thought I would ask if anyone knew of some ideas. Recently I purchasedfarmstead with 20 Acres of land, with a small creek going through it. Right now it is basically ungrazed pasture with broam and native glass, with trees along the drainage.

Here's a picture

What I would like to do is basically make a small Wildlife Santuary. I would really like to put some tall grasses like CRP, throughout the whole pasture. I also plan on plantingmany more trees, mainly along the road, so game can feel more secure.

I remember reading something about the CRP program being scraped by the government recently. I'm not sure if I would meet the standards of it anyways. I'm not looking to make any money, just seeing seeing what type of programs may be out thereto helpsomeone wanting to improve the Habitat for Wildlife, like in my case. As you can tell, I'm pretty green to all of this. Thanks for any help.

Criggster 07-17-2007 05:08 PM

RE: Government Habitiat Programs

Check on the Wildlife Habitat Incentive Program (WHIP). It is another good program, and one that I have personally implemented on my farm.

nchawkeye 07-18-2007 04:32 PM

Find the County agent or the local Soil and Water agent, in NC their office is usually in the courthouse...
You are on the right track, we have converted some of our land to wildlife land, especially along waterways
as we have problems with too much phosphorous in the rivers in eastern NC, causing too many nutrients in the
rivers and having fish kills...

Good thing is, they are paying more than what farm land rents for...