Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Wildlife Management / Food Plots
 Jobs in the wildlife management fields >

Jobs in the wildlife management fields

Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Jobs in the wildlife management fields

Old 12-16-2006, 11:45 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Jobs in the wildlife management fields

any tips on how i can outcompete, like internships or minors that would give me an edge?
Old 12-17-2006, 11:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have a degree in wildlife management and I work as an agent for the feds and the state. PM me and I'll give you as much info as I have.

Old 12-21-2006, 09:32 AM
Fork Horn

Experience. Get your foot in every door possible. Fire training, internships, minors, double-majors, masters, doctorate...the best thing you can do is to identify the job you want right now and see what things that the job requires first of all...then start working on all of the things that the employer 'wishes' that the person that they hire could do.

What I 'wish' for as an employer is to have someone that not only has a degree and background in forestry and wildlife management, but someone that is well-versed in business management, herbicide application, GIS/GPS, can speak spanish fluently, personable, motivating to others, professional and willing to do just about anything to be successful....of course there are are ton of other things as well, but most applicants drop off way before all of those 'wishes' are met.

ORIGINAL: Schobs

any tips on how i can outcompete, like internships or minors that would give me an edge?
Old 12-21-2006, 12:47 PM