Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Spikes! Should they be shot?

Old 02-23-2006, 11:53 PM

Default Spikes! Should they be shot?

I am a wildlife manager in south Texas on 56 thousand acres. We have an abundance of deer, too many in fact. The way I see it, a buck should at least have 6 to 8 points his first year. Not nessisaraly, large points, but countable points. Studies have shown that spikes are not always inferior, under good conditions. However being in south Texas, where we don't have perfect conditions, most of the spikes I see do not usually get much larger. I would like to here some input on this matter to broaden my prospective.
Old 02-24-2006, 06:03 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Spikes! Should they be shot?

Most of the time, no they should not be shot. The source of that idea is through QDMA meetings and other reading. They tell us that in our area the late breeding leads to a younger buck during antler growth season, thus a lot of spikes. Within 3 years they usually catch up in their antler development. I think the bigger problem is too many deer, both doe and bucks in a lot of areas.
Old 02-24-2006, 06:19 AM