Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Deer Feeder Recipe

Old 06-28-2005, 10:50 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Deer Feeder Recipe

This weekend I'm setting up a deer feeder next to my parents house, so they can watch the deer(and will help the hunting). I've never used feeders before, but i'm planning on picking up some bags of corn and a bag or two of alfalfa pellets, from the coop. I thought I'd mix them together. The feeder will hold 225 lbs. Any other suggestions beside these 2, which you've had good success with? Thanks
Old 06-28-2005, 11:54 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Deer Feeder Recipe

Ks, I add 25lbs of sweet feed(horse feed)to the mixture.
It's oats with molasses. Deer love it.
Old 06-28-2005, 03:31 PM

I only use corn and have for the last 15 years. the only thing with mixing other things with the corn, is moisture and molasses in the feeds.it sometimes sticks it all together, and want come out of the feeder.
the deer will come to the corn , just as good alone as with other things added.thats what I have found.they do make dry mixes that you can pour into the feeder to add smell to it. it comes in peanut,peanutbutter,and soy.I couldn't tell any difference when I add it or when I didn't.

you could get the molasses and pour it on a stump or in a container.a friend that lives next to the state park has a feeder made like a box,they pour corn and horse feed into it each day. they have 15 or 20 deer at a time around it.
Old 06-28-2005, 03:49 PM
Typical Buck