Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What is jumping the string??

Old 05-09-2005, 12:33 PM

Default What is jumping the string??

I'm new to bow hunting could someone help me?
Old 05-09-2005, 12:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: What is jumping the string??

Jumping the string is when you fire your bow and the deer drops a few inches upon hearing the release. This may cause your arrow to fly over the deer's back even though you had the pin placed on the vitals.
Old 05-09-2005, 12:43 PM
Nontypical Buck

In my opinion it means that as the arrow is released, there is a "twang" sound that the deer hears just as the arrow begins flight. When the deer hears this, his natural reaction is to duck or lower his body (as we would do if startled by a loud noise). When this happens, the deer lowers his shoulders just as the arrow flies over his body.

The point is, had the deer not reacted to the sound of the arrow being released, the arrow would have flown true, hitting the vitals. Others may have a better explaination.....
Old 05-09-2005, 12:45 PM
Giant Nontypical

"Jumping the string" is a reaction to the sound your bow string makes upon release. When deer are startled they often spring down or duck then bound, if this happens it can cause your arrow to completely miss the target or hit higher then expected. My advise is don't worry much about the "jumping the string" thing, instead concentrate on the mechanics from draw to release, pick the hair(spot to aim) and follow through just like you do when punching foam. I have had very few deer duck or jump the string and those that did were usually of my own doing!

Practice shooting like you hunt and when its time to pull on a live target don't treat it any different that practice, you'll be fine!
Old 05-09-2005, 01:22 PM
Nontypical Buck