Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Have my deer disappeared??

Old 11-24-2004, 04:59 PM

Default Have my deer disappeared??

Help me out guys, I'm new to deer hunting.

This is the first time of hunting on land that we bought last year. Always wanted to deer hunt but never had a place. Now I do.

This land was leased in the prior decades and many fine bucks have been taken. All year, I have seen numerous tracks and other sign of lots of deer. I put up a tube feeder back in August and have kept it full. The deer have been hittin it good.

Well, the evening before our season opened, I sat in the 16' tripod stand that I had bought and watched 3 does and a buck in the area I'm planning to hunt. Figured this would be way easy.

Here's the problem. I have not seen a single deer since then! I've been working day shift so my hunting has been limited to evenings since opening day. I've been gettin in the stand by 4pm and stayin till I can't see. Nothin! That is except for one coyote that I didn't shoot, figured it would spook the deer.

I don't think the deer are scenting me, the wind has been out of the north or south, my field of fire is east of me.

What's the deal? These dear have a calender or what? I went out this afternoon and did some scouting. All the places that I've always seen deer tracks, there is nothing fresh. Nothing.

I start some days off Friday so I'll have an opportunity to be out before daylight, hoping to see SOMETHING.........

We've had some crazy weather here in central Oklahoma. Unusually warm and an excess of rain. Could this be the cause?

Gimme some pointers folks, I'm gettin frustrated!
Old 11-24-2004, 05:12 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Have my deer disappeared??

last year I saw (killed) all my deer in the evening, this season they have been moving early in the morning. so you aren't alone in this one