Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 An experiment with scents that worked (I think) >

An experiment with scents that worked (I think)

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

An experiment with scents that worked (I think)

Old 11-24-2004, 10:04 AM
Fork Horn

Default An experiment with scents that worked (I think)

I'm not an expert, but think this may help someone - possibly.

I am pretty much done with this season now and have been experimenting a bit with scents. I've taken some real whoppers, filling my tag in every state I have hunted, using scents from Wildlife Research, Hunters Specialties, etc., etc. and a few others. I know many will disagree, but I am beginning to think it doesn't matters which scent product you use. They all seem about the same. It seems to me the main thing is how and WHEN you use the scent. I have been taking my 12 year-old into the woods at about 2:30 AM each day so he can take game in case I hit upon something -- or not. Monday he took a nice 5X5 at exactly 7:05 AM. Don't know if I made it happen or if it was just raw luck, but here is what we did:

1. At 3:00 AM we were padding down the trail SLOWLY! and quietly, almost as if still hunting. We did this from the moment we got out of the auto, not slamming doors, not talking (but in whispers). By 3:30AM we were fairly well into the woods.