Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How much camo is enough?

Old 11-22-2004, 09:01 AM

Default How much camo is enough?

I'm a relatively unexperienced deer hunter who really wants to learn more about how to successfully hunt deer. Yup, I'm a newbie but ya gotta start somewhere right?

I just wanted to ask some of you pros out there...how much camouflage apparel is enough when crossbow hunting from a tree stand? Because I'm hunting on a budget, I didn't want to go out and spend over a hundred dollars on one of those scent-locking state-of-the-art body suits, so I purchased a long-sleeved camo t-shirt to wear over my regular brown Carhart coveralls. In addition to this, I'm also planning on wearing a camo face mask, camo gloves, and camo knee-high rubber boots. The only region not camouflaged would be from my knees to my waist, which would be Carhart brown.

Should I invest in a pair of camo insulated pants or am I sufficiently outfitted?

Thanks.
Old 11-22-2004, 09:43 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: How much camo is enough?

Define enough ...

It sounds like you have a good start , but some situations will call for different clothing .

Is your present outfit warm enough for Winter ?

Does it match the conditions of every area that you hunt ?

Are all of the pieces the same pattern ?

Do you plan to hunt out of state ?

If you answered "No" more than once you probably need to go shopping .
Old 11-22-2004, 11:44 AM
Giant Nontypical

I like Realtree, and Mossy Oak camo. That said, in MOST situations the type of camo is mostly over done! So are the expensive "scent-free suits!
Good old G.I. camo works well for 99% of hunting, and good personal hygiene and a little baking soda are just as good, and a lots cheaper than scent-free suits!
Old 11-22-2004, 12:47 PM