Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Preventing "Blood shock"

Old 10-23-2004, 10:25 PM

Default Preventing "Blood shock"

I am new to this and logically it seems that a quick kill is the best way to prevent blood shock. Biology is not a chessgame though, so I wonder what else should be done to help keep the venison from getting "gamey".
Old 10-24-2004, 12:58 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Preventing "Blood shock"

Some wont agree with me,but I dont let it age ( rot).Skin is off within hours and the cutting starts and in the freezer that night,
Old 10-24-2004, 01:49 AM
Giant Nontypical

Well I agree that aging is not required for game. That said if in the right conditions I don't think causes any "gamey" flavour to the meat either.

For me the keys are as follows:
Clean harvest
FD ASAP (if gut, bladder, poop shoot is effected wash immediately)
Remove everything include the esophagus.
Remove and or wash out any debris that may have resulted after FDing.
Cool the entire carcass (which means hide off and ice/cooler or if temp allow hang)
Split the pelvic bone and ensure the hams are not touching. I also split the brisket just to allow for faster cooling.
I wipe down the carcass to remove hairs from skinning.
Debone the meat not saw!
Remove fat, silver skin, etc
When it's time to freeze try and lay it out in your freezer so it becomes solid and not partial.

If you use a butcher or processor the meat will be froze but ensure it is thoroughly frozen before stacking in your freezer.

Keep it clean, cool it, trim it and don't over cook it (remember it is extremely lean and lacks moisture of domestic animals in way of fat!).
Old 10-24-2004, 06:55 AM
Typical Buck

Great tips Skeeter!
Old 10-24-2004, 10:10 AM

ORIGINAL: cardeer