Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

4 wheelers and hunting

Old 09-09-2004, 10:13 PM
Fork Horn

Default 4 wheelers and hunting

I am new to using 4 wheelers , and was just wondering if using them going in to the stand in the mornings spooked them? Do you take them all the way to the stand, or part way and then walk the rest of the way? Just wondering what some of you guys that have used them think. Thanks
Old 09-09-2004, 10:32 PM

Default RE: 4 wheelers and hunting

I ride mine all the way past the stand and then walk back but I am not going anywhere that I can bump deer on the way in. I also go in earlier so when its shooting time it has been over an hour since the noise of my 4 wheeler has been heard and things have settled down. If you think you would bump any deer on the way in then park it and walk the rest of the way.
Old 09-09-2004, 11:45 PM
Typical Buck

I walk in and if I take a deer, I go back to the truck and get the atv to drag it out. ATV's can be very useful, but there are way too many idiots riding them through the woods at peak hunting times, shooting from them, which is illegal just about everywhere, and ruining everyone elses' chances. If everyone would respect other hunters while using them, I have no problem with atv's, but you've always got those idiots that don't know what the word "respect" is!!!
Old 09-10-2004, 07:29 AM

Around here people use them to chase and shoot from them.Eventually they will get caught.If using them to go to the stand it is ok or fragging the deer out
Old 09-10-2004, 08:13 AM

I do use an ATV on occassion although I prefer to walk in. I've got a couple of stands that are quite a distance from camp. If I ride in, I tend to stop well before my stand and walk in from there. Usually about a qtr mile.
Old 09-10-2004, 09:53 AM