HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Need a little help please... I am a new hunter (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/70777-need-little-help-please-i-am-new-hunter.html)

Air Force Ammo Troop 08-29-2004 08:37 PM

Need a little help please... I am a new hunter

Hello I am a little new to hunting and would like to ask a few simple questions. I haven't hunted in about 11 years and I can't remember many things my father taught me because I was reall young. I remember deer tracks, rubs, ruts and most of the simple things... but cannot remember some important things, I will list them and any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. Human scent removal... I only remember him saying that you want to be clean and not use smelly shampoo's and soap's.

2. Stand placement... I can scout pretty well but I have no idea how close to place a stand... I have found a trail that the deer use to get to their feeding plot. I would like to hunt there but I have no idea how close is too close for my stand... it is a ladder stand if that helps.

3. Smoking and such while hunting... I smoke like a freight train and I can probably go about 2 hours without one at the most. Should I not smoke while hunting ??

Thanks alot... and any other tips would be great... I am hunting at Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana.

RustyOlRanger4x4 08-29-2004 09:37 PM

RE: Need a little help please... I am a new hunter

ORIGINAL: Air Force Ammo Troop

Hello I am a little new to hunting and would like to ask a few simple questions. I haven't hunted in about 11 years and I can't remember many things my father taught me because I was reall young. I remember deer tracks, rubs, ruts and most of the simple things... but cannot remember some important things, I will list them and any help would be greatly appreciated.