Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Public land edict

Old 12-02-2019, 11:18 AM
Spike

Default Public land edict

Hi there,

I'm new to hunting and am looking for opinions on public land use. Where I hunt is all public land. I spent the off season looking at maps of the area to determine good geographical locations to start preparing spots for deer season.

When I physically got to the area which is accessible only by one logging road I noticed someone had put up signs to keep out and during deer season blocked entrance to the area. This land IS public and also spans about 4-5 square KM.

I don't want to use other peoples hunting spots that they put effort into maintaining but blocking off access to 1200 square acres of public land and logging roads seems excessive to me. Am I wrong for wanting to use this land too?
Old 12-02-2019, 11:39 AM
Nontypical Buck

I would report any signs being put up to the owners of the land, be it state land, federal land, or??
as legally its NOT allowed to do so,
However, many public lands ARE land locked, meaning you HAVE to cross private lands to enter the public lands and, land owners have every right to post and NOT allow folks to use there land
SOME state lands have easements, but NOT all do

so, are you 100% sure its truly public lands where the signs are?

so again, report it if so to the right authority and if it is truly public, you have every right to be there as anyone else

BUT this also doesn't;t mean you can take over any spots you like or find, its a free for all on public lands
ONLY real rules I seem to find, is HOW the person was raised , if they are more kind and not wanting to sit next to you or use you as scouting tool cause there too lazy
or how ignorant or NOT they are, which again, seems to me to come from how they were raised and there morals they have or don;t!