HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Looking for advice for a new cold weather Parka (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/421893-looking-advice-new-cold-weather-parka.html)

Duckbutter48 10-07-2019 06:59 AM

Looking for advice for a new cold weather Parka

Struggling with what to buy. I'm looking for a cold weather, tree stand parka. Waterproof with a hood. I care don't about a specific camo pattern and orange could even be an option.

I need a 2XL-Tall which limits my choices. It seems like Cabelas no longer makes the MTO50 clothing in talls, plus I've read on forums they aren't as good as they used to be. I'm not excited by Sitka because I just feel like I'm buying an overpriced brand name, plus they have so many options I'm not even sure which parka would be best.(could be wrong, since I have no personal experience with their clothing)

Has anyone tried the MidwayUSA branded coats? They have a couple that may work but its hard to buy sight unseen. Any other options that is working for folks?

mrbb 10-07-2019 08:25 AM

well, if Raven wear(of alberta canada) was still in business , they would be my first suggestion, they used to custom make/fit things and about as warm a stuff as possible to own!, the very warmest and quietiest gear I own, sat many minus 20 days from before sun rise to after dark in it and stayed warm on all day sits in Alberta and like COLD places!
wasn't cheap, but Darn it was good stuff

But they closed when Sue retired!

Sleeping Indian makes good stuff too, all depends on what your willing to spend!

https://www.sleepingindianusa.com/

I own both cabela's MT050, there wooltmate series parks(and bibs and even coveralls, and a few other things pants and a few other brands gear, spent a small fortune on things over the yrs LOL)

and they don;t come close to what Raven wear