Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Rinse meat before grinding

Old 11-27-2018, 04:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by Trihitch
I have been grinding meat for 10+ years and never heard of semi-freezing before. I haven’t had any issues with fridge cold meat, but I will have to try getting it colder. Thanks for the tip Jake.
Lots of people do it. It also makes it easier to remove silver skin. I personally do not do it.
Old 11-27-2018, 05:33 AM
Super Moderator

Sometimes I just freeze a few chunks and run them through occasionally while grinding regular meat . The Frozen chunk seems to push through and "clean out" the grinder.

​​​​​​I have a pretty good grinder and can pretty much feed it whatever. But the slightly frozen still seems to feed better.

-Jake
Old 11-27-2018, 05:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

A lot of people cut their meat into square chunks. I cut mine into long strips which works a lot better IMO.
Old 11-29-2018, 08:45 AM
Typical Buck

I have always rinsed my meat before grinding if I see hair on it. Usually only a few pieces will have some hair on it. It has never affected my grind, though I do have a heavy duty LEM so that may help. I do like to place the auger and plates in the freezer to cool them down before I start grinding and only pull out the meat from the fridge as I need it rather than letting a tub of meat sit while I am grinding and letting it get to room temp.
Old 11-29-2018, 11:01 AM
Boone & Crockett

A propane torch takes care of hair sticking on the carcass in short order.
Old 11-29-2018, 11:48 AM
Super Moderator

Before putting in freezer soak it in milk for an hour to overnight.
Just enaugh milk to cover the meat.
It puts oil in the meat and keeps it from being so dry after cooking.
It also draws out blood for a better flaver.
Old 11-29-2018, 11:49 AM
Super Moderator