Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

snow and how to use it

Old 11-13-2018, 01:21 PM
Spike

Default snow and how to use it

Since we might be getting some snow soon in the northeast, I was wondering what the best way is to use it for deer. Simply follow the tracks? I've never tried to track a deer before. Any tips?
Old 11-13-2018, 06:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

A classic way is to get out at first light after a nighttime snow fall. Stillhunt and try to get on a good, fresh set of tracks. You should read up on judging tracks) but one rule of thumb is that a big buck's footprint is large enough to lay a 30-06 shell across it. Follow the trail in a stillhunt and keep looking ahead to see if you can spot him, especially when you can see the tracks at a distance. If you can parallel the trail, that's good, as a buck often checks his back trail and that way you aren't directly on it. Carefully scan downed trees and other cover where the big boy might have bedded down (Binoculars are excellent for this). Be very alert if the trail starts leading to the end of a ridge, a slope, cedar trees, etc. There'a good chance he's bedded there. Bucks also like to bed on slopes. If you find yourself creeping lengthwise on a ridge, try to stay off the crest, rather stay on the slope so you aren't silhouetted against the sky. In any case, he'll often situate himself to get the wind at is back so he can use his nose to tell what's behind him and his eyes will tell him what's front

Remember, if he sees or hears or smells you first, it's usually game over. You have to go slow. Stillhunters have an old adage: never to take a step bigger than your boot. Pause a lot and be looking into cover, especially if you have reason to think he might have gone in it or toward it.
Old 11-13-2018, 07:38 PM
Super Moderator

Father forkhorn gave some very good advice.