Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
New to Deer Hunting - Please help! >

New to Deer Hunting - Please help!

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to Deer Hunting - Please help!

Old 06-14-2018, 05:45 PM
Spike

Default New to Deer Hunting - Please help!

Hi guys,
I am a beginner deer hunter and this year will be my first time deer hunting. I drew a tag in CO for a GMU and I have been in this location before scouting for Turkey. I scouted this location in March and found some deer trails and lots and lots of poop! But they seemed a bit old looking at their freshness. Now my question is, what should I focus on for deer hunting in this particular location? I'll be targeting mule deer in this location. I really don't know much about where to begin after I've found all these signs. I do plan on scouting this area before deer season opens. Will most likely be hunting during the evening also. Please let me know if you guys need more details. Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Old 06-15-2018, 02:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

You might want to check your GMU on Colorado's website. A lot of times the state websites will have good general information on a unit.
Old 06-16-2018, 05:17 AM
Giant Nontypical

CO has a link to interactive maps for all GMUs. You can add whatever filters you want and customize it. This means you can put in things like deer summer range and deer winter range. You can put in roads, camping spots, public lands etc... and the maps can be downloaded. That's the first thing I would do and the second thing is get in touch with the wildlife biologist for that area and pick his/her brain for hunting info. I have found the biologists to be a very good source of info. Take what they tell you and put that info onto the map you made.
Old 06-16-2018, 10:03 AM
Giant Nontypical