Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Hunting an area I haven't had a chance to scout, need advice. >

Hunting an area I haven't had a chance to scout, need advice.

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hunting an area I haven't had a chance to scout, need advice.

Old 11-10-2017, 08:02 AM
Spike

Default Hunting an area I haven't had a chance to scout, need advice.

Hello all,

This is my first year hunting and I have put in a lot of work up at my cottage. I spent my summer/early fall scouting and preparing. I've poured over maps and identified key ambush sites. I've set up blinds and a stand. Everything is all set. The problem is, my cottage is a good three hours away and due to family and work I'll only get one good trip up there. It would be nice if I could do November during the rut but it looks like I'll have to be going there in December.

Anyways, I do want to get out in the field as much as possible this season just so I can get some experience in the bush. There is a tract of public land 30min away so that means I could go there right after work and get a couple hours in, or even go for a full day the odd time. One of those odd times is Monday, as I have the day off.

I'm seeking any advice anyone can give on hunting an unscouted location. It's not ideal I know, and I've been studying maps for days but I can't get my boots on the ground until I get there to hunt.

Here is some information that might help you provide advice.

1. I will be hunting with a bow.

2. I have some leaf netting if I wanted to set up a quick blind.

3. The location i'm going is quite swampy and surrounded by farmland. There are some changes in elevation but they are limited. There is also a creek that runs through the majority of the land.