Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Need help with public land deer >

Need help with public land deer

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Need help with public land deer

Old 12-18-2016, 05:55 AM
Spike

Default Need help with public land deer

Ok I am new to whitetail hunting and am not having much luck. I hunt a Army base that holds a lot of deer. It gets a fair amount of pressure. It is over 40,000 acres. I have concentrated on a couple sections of approx. 40-60 acres. I am seeing lots of deer signs, but very few deer. Been hunting from the ground. In the mornings setting up on food plot ( no luck, seems to be a lot of acorns in deep wood). But the plots do have good signs of being used. Then scouting around in middle of the day. I have found bedding areas, places they are getting acorns, nice rubs and plenty of scat.

I need all the advice I can get!! Not sure where to set up and sit, or if I should just keep moving around? My 11year old son likes to go with sometimes, so moving around can be noisy. Have been doing my best to keep wind to my face and being quiet.

What am I doing wrong or what should I do different?

Thanks
Roger
Old 12-18-2016, 06:04 AM
Spike

I'd keep moving around in the middle of the day(10am-2pm)until I jump deer. You've then found their daytime bedding area/areas. Sounds like most of the sign your seeing is being made at night.
Old 12-18-2016, 06:13 AM
Nontypical Buck