Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Hunting new land question!! Set out pines >

Hunting new land question!! Set out pines

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hunting new land question!! Set out pines

Old 09-13-2016, 09:56 AM
Spike

Default Hunting new land question!! Set out pines

I was given permission to hunt land this year that joins my property. The new land was clear cut a few years ago and has been set out in pines for a few year. I would say most of the pines are around 8-10 feet tall. I went to the land for a few minutes this past Saturday and found tracks on a very small open spot but still grown up. Most of what I could tell is that it is grown up pretty good and wont be much open area. Whats the best method of hunting this? This is my first time really hunting pines. Even though the land joins me, I have always hunted hardwoods. I haven't scouted the rest of the land, planning on doing that in the coming weeks.
Old 09-13-2016, 12:22 PM
Nontypical Buck

I don't know if they would let you do this, but if it were earlier in the off-season I would certainly consider going out there with a chainsaw and cutting open some lanes. Even tossing some clover seed in said lanes. However, we're getting very close to hunting season, and now's probably not the time to mess around in what is probably their bedding area. I may be wrong.