Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Scent Control Question

Old 09-11-2016, 06:37 PM
Spike

Default Scent Control Question

OK, So I am new to hunting (starting my third year) Last year I hunted over a field where shots ranged from 25 yards to 125 yards.

This year I have a new area to hunt that is in a swamp. The brush is very heavy and I am thinking that I will need the deer to come within 30-40 yards to see them.

So what is the best way to kill my scent so that they won't smell me before I see them?

I washed all my hunting clothes in the scent control laundry soap from Walmart and them sealed them in vacuum bags.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 09-11-2016, 08:12 PM
Giant Nontypical

Honestly, you've done just about all that is humanly possible in tight woods at that yardage! You could spend, (waste) lots of money on pretty much useless scent blocking gimmicks but, that's about just about what they are- gimmicks!
Everything else is up to you!
Using any good camo clothing, don't put them on until you are ready to hunt, so that they don't pick up any last minute odors.
Use local, natural cover scents, if at all.
Learn to use the wind to your favor.
Be as still and quiet as possible.
Using the above, I have successfully hunted deer within "baseball bat" range while sitting on the ground, using the available cover! You will undoubtedly get busted now and then! I also have been busted by deer that I know did not see or hear me at 100+ yards, when the wind shifted at the wrong moment! But you will have success if you stick with it! Good luck! Oh, and welcome to the board!
Old 09-11-2016, 08:20 PM
Nontypical Buck