HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Looking to buy a new gun. (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/403398-looking-buy-new-gun.html)

Someoneyouknow 12-23-2015 10:28 AM

Looking to buy a new gun.

So i'm fairly new to hunting and looking for firearm advice. I live in northern Ohio, but my best friend recently purchased 125 acres in Tennessee. We hunted down there this year on the fly and had a really good time.

I'm looking to purchase a new firearm cause this is America. It's essentially going to be my Tennessee deer rifle. My budget is $1500 complete including tax/scope/rings everything.

I would like a gun that:
shots flat at 125 yards
is light
appropriate for varmints
is new
known for reliability
i prefer a wood look

The two that pop in my head right away were the Ruger no 1 and the Mini 14.

Any advice, words of wisdom or considerations would be appreciated.

Topgun 3006 12-23-2015 10:37 AM

There are many rifles that fit within the extremes you mentioned along with a good scope for $1500 for what you are asking. Just go out and start looking and get the feel of many of them and pick one you like the looks of and that fits you well. If you want a combo deer/varmint rifle, I'd go with a .243 or 25-06 off the top of my head as both with kill either at 300 yards with no problem and both have bullet selections for both animal sizes.

Oldtimr 12-23-2015 10:40 AM

The Ruger #1 is a great rifle, several good calibers, the .270 is a great deer caliber, so are most of the .30 caliber rounds. I don't know id TN allows semi auto rifles but the mini 14 is not a good deer hunting caliber or rifle, despite what some may tell you. Also trying to figure out why the great disparity in the two choices, they aren't even close.

Topgun 3006 12-23-2015 10:47 AM

Originally Posted by Oldtimr (Post 4235276)