Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Magnification on a riflescope. >

Magnification on a riflescope.

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Magnification on a riflescope.

Old 12-07-2015, 10:51 AM
  #1  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
Default Magnification on a riflescope.

I went hunting this weekend and missed a decent deer due to my scope. I have a nikon prostaff 3-9-40 riflescope with nikoplex reticle. I always sight my gun in at 3x at about 75 yards. I'm limited on clear shots around here. To make a long story short I zoomed my scope in at 6x and missed the deer. Came home and was shooting dead on zero. Zoomed in the scope to 9x just to see what it would do. It dropped the bullet about 12 inches low. Why would a scope change the point of impact when just simply zoomed in. Thx for the input.
AutumnGhost is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 11:09 AM
  #2  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 8,019
Default

Originally Posted by AutumnGhost
I went hunting this weekend and missed a decent deer due to my scope. I have a nikon prostaff 3-9-40 riflescope with nikoplex reticle. I always sight my gun in at 3x at about 75 yards. I'm limited on clear shots around here. To make a long story short I zoomed my scope in at 6x and missed the deer. Came home and was shooting dead on zero. Zoomed in the scope to 9x just to see what it would do. It dropped the bullet about 12 inches low. Why would a scope change the point of impact when just simply zoomed in. Thx for the input.
It shouldn't make any real difference in impact point and if yours did what you are saying I'd be talking to a Nikon rep. and asking for a replacement ASAP!
Topgun 3006 is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 11:37 AM
  #3  
Giant Nontypical
 
Sheridan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location:
Posts: 5,130
Default

As an experiment;

Shoot 5 shot groups; one "group" on 3X, one "group" on 6X & one "group" on 9X.

If you have 3 (tight !) groups all at different points of impact, you can send it back with confidence (enclose target as proof) !!!

Let us know the results of the 3 groups set on the 3 different powers.

Last edited by Sheridan; 12-08-2015 at 09:25 AM.
Sheridan is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 12:38 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,359
Default

Pretty common really although 12 inches at 75 yards is more than usual it is something that should always be checked.
rockport is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 12:59 PM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
 
d80hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,186
Default

My Prostaff is the same at 3X or 9X where it hits. The eye relief is really tight on the Prostaff that is my only complaint on that particular scope.
d80hunter is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 02:04 PM
  #6  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
Default AutumnGhost

I called Nikon today and they just told me to download the spot on app for phone. The rep said that it will move the reticle. He basically said I gotta guess where to aim.
AutumnGhost is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 02:45 PM
  #7  
Fork Horn
 
RaySendero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: US South
Posts: 444
Default

Originally Posted by Sheridan
As an experiment;

Shoot 5 shot groups; one "group" on 3X, one "group" on 6X & one "group" on 9X.

If you have 3 (tight !) groups all at different points of impact, you can send it back with confidence (enclose target as proof) !!!

Let us know the results of the 3 groups set on the 3 different powers.

Yes, Very good idea! Also post us a pic of the target.
Maybe we could help more if we could see the groups.
RaySendero is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 04:02 PM
  #8  
Nontypical Buck
 
WV Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Virginia / West Virginia
Posts: 4,906
Default

Originally Posted by AutumnGhost
I called Nikon today and they just told me to download the spot on app for phone. The rep said that it will move the reticle. He basically said I gotta guess where to aim.

??? That makes no sense. Sight in at 3x and you need to guess where you might hit if you adjust your power to 6 or 9?

My scopes hit the same at 3x or 9x or in between.
WV Hunter is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 04:14 PM
  #9  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 8,019
Default

Originally Posted by rockport
Pretty common really although 12 inches at 75 yards is more than usual it is something that should always be checked.
Don't know how you came up with that lame, incorrect statement because a decent scope will not change a bullet's impact at it's various power settings. If they did to any extent, there wouldn't be any being sold! If one does change impact points to any extent, I would tell the person just like I told the OP, to contact the manufacturer and have the scope repaired or, better yet, replaced.
Topgun 3006 is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 04:17 PM
  #10  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 8,019
Default

Originally Posted by AutumnGhost
I called Nikon today and they just told me to download the spot on app for phone. The rep said that it will move the reticle. He basically said I gotta guess where to aim.
You completely lost me with that post! Please explain what in the heck you are talking about.
Topgun 3006 is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.