Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

tree stand advice

Old 12-01-2015, 04:19 AM
Fork Horn

Default tree stand advice

I've been hunting for over 25 years, but I've never used a tree stand. Now my little guy is nearing the age when I'll take him hunting with me. Given that he is only 9 years old (at least 10 by the time he hunts) and we live in Colorado where the terrain is rough, I'm thinking a two-man tree stand might be the way to introduce him to deer hunting.

Can anyone give recommendations on what features to look for?

I've glanced at them on the Cabela's web site. Because I'll be hunting with a kid, it seems reasonable to buy one with a padded back. What do you think? Brand names?

Does anyone make a safety harness that will fit a kid?
Old 12-01-2015, 04:34 AM
Typical Buck

Get a two man life line also.
Old 12-01-2015, 04:37 AM
Dominant Buck

Great that you are looking to get your son into hunting. Of all the tree stands a double ladder stand would be best but they are large and heavy to put into place. Great stand if you have hunting land and can leave it in place. Since your son is so young I would suggest getting a ground pop up ground blind which would allow him to move around like kids need to do and still supply a wind, cold and sun break. I personally don't think a youth hunter should be up in trees since there are some safer alternatives.
Old 12-01-2015, 04:41 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by Champlain Islander