Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Testing for Chronic Wasting in Illinois? >

Testing for Chronic Wasting in Illinois?

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Testing for Chronic Wasting in Illinois?

Old 07-10-2015, 06:11 PM
Spike

Default Testing for Chronic Wasting in Illinois?

As I'm new to hunting and all, I was just curious to see if anyone sends in samples for tests for CWD in Illinois (or anywhere)? If so, how much does it cost?

Thanks!
Old 07-10-2015, 08:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

http://www.agr.state.il.us/AnimalHW/...esburglab.html

http://www.agr.state.il.us/AnimalHW/...esburgfees.pdf

Chronic wasting disease (CWD) of cervids, IHC Fixed obex, lymph node Daily Varies $45.00

I'd call and ask how they want it packaged.

http://wildpro.twycrosszoo.org/S/00M...ex_removal.htm

You can usually tell if an animal is healthy and vital by looking at it.

Not much chance of Deer to human transmission from all I've read. They say it is possible, but has to the best of my knowledge, never been documented. Avoid eating brain tissue, nerve tissue and lymph nodes. Not the most appetizing part of the Deer anyway.

Most of the tests are done on obviously sick animals and are a game management tool.

When the BSE scare hit Europe I went to classes to learn about it. Nasty stuff, you almost have to incinerate (cremate) it to kill it. BSE and CWD are two similar but different diseases.

Just an opinion, but I cook my game well, all the way through, above 160-180 F (same with store bought meat). Won't help with CWD or BSE but will kill 99% of anything else dangerous. I'm a big fan of Goulash or Chili, sear the meat, then toss it into your sauce, bring it to a low boil and simmer for a long time. Just my way of doing things, I've got a parasite phobia LOL.
Old 07-11-2015, 05:11 AM
Boone & Crockett