Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New Hunter with a question

Old 03-05-2015, 06:58 AM
Spike

Default New Hunter with a question

I am new to the sport with a question for all you veterans. A friend of mine just acquired some hunting land and he talked me into taking up the sport. Last year I purchased all of my gear, bow, and shotgun. This year he came to me saying I need to start saving for half of the food plot, a stand, and blind. My question is this normal educate for a guest to purchase these things? I told him I would help with cleaning up dead fall, help prep for plot, anything to get the land ready. There are already a few stands up on the property. Just making sure I am doing the right thing here. Thanks
Old 03-05-2015, 07:50 AM
Spike

Anytime I'm invited to hunt private property, I always offer to pitch in for food plots, add a stand, whatever. After all, I ultimately plan to harvest a deer or 2 for the freezer.
Old 03-05-2015, 08:20 AM
Boone & Crockett

If your friend has invited you to take advantage of land he paid for, it is only reasonable you help defer some of the cost of managing the land for the deer you are hunting.
Old 03-05-2015, 08:46 AM
Spike

Ok Thanks guys. Now have you ever put forth this time and money and been told no big bucks?
Old 03-05-2015, 08:52 AM
Super Moderator