HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   When to lay corn (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/396863-when-lay-corn.html)

USN Corpsman 01-05-2015 07:58 PM

When to lay corn

Was wondering for the guys that are able to use corn when do you put corn out before hunting that area? Lately I've been doing it the day of since my club is an hour drive one way from my house. Wanted to get some thoughts on if maybe I should do it a few days before because of my scent or if my scent will blow away after early morning for hunting late afternoon. Laying out 50 lbs of corn. Next season plan to put my feeder out 2 months before the season even opens.

Oldtimr 01-06-2015 03:37 AM

I am not a proponent of using bait for deer, however if it is legal and ou want to use it, you want it out well before the season opens to get the deer habituated to the bait. It woud be good to use a timed feeder set to go off just after legal shooting light if your stand over looks the baited area. If you are ust going to put some corn on the ground and let it run out and then come back periodically and not keep the bait container filled, you are just spinning your wheels.

alleyyooper 01-06-2015 03:46 AM

Baiting is legal again here in Michigan. Seems the new rule how ever limits you putting it out one day ahead and only 2 gallons at a time over 10 square feet area, a far cry from 50 pounds. I know some guys who do the scatter from the pail method and they add a few cut in half apples to the pail so the scent pulls in the deer with in hours.
They usually only get does and small year and a half old bucks.

:D Al

gjersy 01-06-2015 04:26 AM