Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

First Deer Hunting Rifle

Old 10-28-2014, 04:32 PM
Spike

Default First Deer Hunting Rifle

Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie looking for some help here. I am really looking forward to purchasing my first rifle, primarily for deer hunting here in PA, but am quite lost on what I should buy. I've done a lot of Google searching and have come across suggestions for a Marlin X7, Stevens 200, Savage Arms 111, Savage Axis, Remington 770 (which I read is poop), Remington 700...etc etc.

I don't know where to start. I am also wondering if a 270 Win would be better than a .30-06 (ammo availability, type of hunting, etc).

So, excuse my newbieness, but can I get some help here? Ultimately, I want to buy a rifle that will last and that I can even pass down to my little son some day. I don't want a budget rifle for the sake of having a rifle, but if there are ones out there for less than $500 that would be worth it, I'm all ears!

Again, I'm in Pennsylvania, and will most likely be in the woods more than not. I do have some friends with farmland and open spaces they hunt in, but more often than not it is in the woods.

If there are other things you guys would need to know in order to better direct me, I would really appreciate it. I'm a novice with terms, as well, so if you use a bunch of acronyms, you'll confuse me more.

Cheers!

Last edited by RoKozak; 10-28-2014 at 04:35 PM.
Old 10-28-2014, 04:53 PM
Spike

Browning AB3. Super quality rifle for around $500. It will last your lifetime, and a lifetime after if treated well. Compared to other rifles in it's price range, I just feel like its a very good choice. 270 or 30-06 would both be just fine for deer. I like 30-06 out of those two.
Old 10-28-2014, 04:59 PM
Spike