Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Novice hunter. Needing advice

Old 09-15-2014, 09:27 AM
Spike

Default Novice hunter. Needing advice

Hey yall. I hope that this is the appropriate thread for this question.

I am fairly new to hunting. Been on several deer hunts with my step dad but only seen and shot hog. I have now moved to TN where my father in law has allowed me to hunt his Farm which is all ag with Soy beans and corn. Its the first time Ive really ever managed property for hunting.I put up some cameras and put down some corn and found great deer on the property. as the season approached I put down some feeders. As I have been more and more on the property it seems as though we have a good bit of coyotes as well.

I recently have stopped seeing the deer on the cameras. There are two cows on the property and they have been there for several years. Im curious if the cows are spooking them, the coyotes or if its the feeders. Ive been told different things. I thought it was coyotes but I was told if i hunt them or trap them it will increase their reproduction.

Any advice would be helpful. Hoping to get my first deer this year.

Thanks for reading!

I appreciate it
Old 09-15-2014, 09:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

First - kill every coyote you can !!!

Deer have different "home range" in the summer than they do in the winter.

If you have standing crops then look for their bedding areas and any consistent water source.

Without a lot of hunting pressure they will come back to those fields (find the access trails to and from those fields or where you placed your feeders).

Cows will not spook them.

Putting up the feeders will, but only until they get use to seeing them.

Your ambush point should be +/- 20 yards into the tree line when they congregate before entering the field at dusk (or where you placed your feeders).