Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
need tips on stand/feeder location. >

need tips on stand/feeder location.

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

need tips on stand/feeder location.

Old 02-08-2014, 03:29 PM
Spike

Default need tips on stand/feeder location.

Hey all , im fairly new to hunting white tail and have aways used an already set up deer stand in the past.

Recently I got permission to start hunting my inlaws property here in central Fl. This is a 15+ acre area with water source in the woods. I was walking the property and found the bedding area near the water source..

My questions:
1. how far away ( at least how many yards) do I set up the feeder and stand from the bedding area. Will i scare them off if im too close.. ?
2. feeder placement: on the trail or off the trail.

Thanks
Old 02-09-2014, 09:02 PM
Typical Buck

JKU, I have always placed stands 75 to 100 yards from bedding areas. Your best bet is to first learn the deer travel patterns. Do the deer bed there at night or during the day. I would look for well made trails ones that look like a road very well beat down. If there is a food source on or near the property is also going to play into it. I like to place trail cams on trails and see what time of day and which direction the deer are coming from on the trail. I would also think about putting a camera on the pond, might be able to place a stand on other side of pond from bedding area. As for a feeder just place it where deer sign is found, might think about a mineral site somewhere around the pond in a shaded spot. Good Hunting.
Old 02-10-2014, 12:14 PM
Spike