Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hunting with dad

Old 12-04-2013, 06:26 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default Hunting with dad

I hunted some when i was young never had much luck all self taught young and dumb. My dads never wanted to hunt much. When i got back into hunting at 18 as my mom didnt want guns in the house my dad went we with me opening day never has since. Iv always wanted him to u know the father don hunts. Well awhile back he told me he wanted to go said he really did want to go killing animals but wanted to go with me and know how to. Made me really happy plus next season is 10 years since he went with me.

Im curious how many of u grew up hunting with ur dad or like me have not. The funny part is he said idc if i kill anything so i get first shot and he can help lug the thing out lol
Old 12-04-2013, 06:36 PM
Super Moderator

I was introduced to hunting at the age of 8 by my father. It was basically hunting squirrels, rabbits, quail, and pheasant. Deer hunting was not a big thing here in my area until years later. I cherish the moments Ive had with my father. Enjoy the memories.
Old 12-04-2013, 06:49 PM
Fork Horn

My dad did not hunt. However, he was very supportive of me hunting and learning to hunt. He even supplied me with guns and ammunition, and taught me how to use firearms.

My theory is that hunting is genetic, and it hits half of the next generation.

My dad's father hunted, and so did one of my dad's half-brothers. The other half-brother, and my brother, had no interest whatsoever.

Of my three kids, the son is a fanatic. The two daughters, while they enjoy shooting, do not have any inclination to hunt at all.

I got the gene from my paternal grandfather, but I had to learn at the hands of my best friend and his father.