Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
How to spend money? Best bang for the "buck"? >

How to spend money? Best bang for the "buck"?

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How to spend money? Best bang for the "buck"?

Old 12-04-2013, 01:13 PM
Spike

Default How to spend money? Best bang for the "buck"?

I'm sure this has already been covered before but I am looking to get some ideas on how to spend my money to increase my chances to harvest a "trophy buck" (130" or better). I've been hunting for over 25 years and have harvested a lot of does and smaller bucks but never one over 80" or so. I am really a meat hunter but just once would like to shoot a larger buck.

A litlle background on my hunting.....I live in northern Illinois about an hour west of Chicago. I bow hunt public land in Illinois and rifle hunt in northern Wisconsin. I get out maybe a half dozen times in Illinois and hunt 3 or 4 days straight in Wisconsin. The land in Wisconsin is private and is all "big woods" (no agricultural). Here are some of the ideas I've had on how to spend the money:

1. A land lease - I would love to lease some land in northern Illinois to hunt but have been unsuccessful in the past. A couple of years ago my father and I placed ads looking for such land in surrounding county farming newspapers but did not have one offer. It seems it's next to impossible to lease land in northen Illinois.

2. Game cameras - I think purchasing a couple of game cameras might be very helpful but I don't think it would be a good idea to use them in Illinois (hunting pressure affects the movement of deer too much, they would likely be stolen, etc). They would be useful at our Wisconsin area but I only make it up there a couple of times a year (we have a summer house there but it is 6.5 hours away).