Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deer fever

Old 11-21-2013, 04:09 PM
Banned

Default Deer fever

I need help staying calm. I've been hunting for many years and i have shot plenty of deer but it seems everytime I see a deer even a small one my heart beats like crazy and I almost jump in the air. Is there anything that anybody does to stay calm?

Last edited by Muzzleloaderhunter; 11-21-2013 at 04:34 PM.
Old 11-21-2013, 04:32 PM
Spike

Nope. The way I see it is if you don't get excited whenever you see a deer, you shouldn't be hunting!
Old 11-21-2013, 04:40 PM
Fork Horn

the pump is what its all about, let's you know your alive!
Old 11-21-2013, 04:59 PM
Fork Horn

I have killed hundreds of deer and a handfull of nice bucks.

I feel the same way you do till this day. When that feeling goes away its time for me to hang it up.

I have learned to relax, breath and thus keeping me still and un noticed.
Old 11-21-2013, 05:05 PM
Fork Horn

I agree with Night.. Its the hunt.. the predator vs prey... its hard wired into us from generations past... If you don't feel that then find a new hobby... for me its a passion, it runs through me.. When November comes I am drawn to the woods and nothing can stop me.
Old 11-21-2013, 05:17 PM
Banned

The passion is in my it really is I just over react WAY to much when I see one. I've spooked a nice buck this year from just seeing it. I jumped up and made to much movement and when I went to grab my gun I wasn't thinking and moved to much so he noticed me and took off
Old 11-21-2013, 05:58 PM
Fork Horn

Same answer: I don't want to be cured!
Old 11-22-2013, 02:51 AM
Typical Buck