HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   I got a decoy? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/386627-i-got-decoy.html)

The Green Horn Hunter 11-01-2013 10:43 AM

I got a decoy?

2 Attachment(s)
First things first, Please keep it civil guys, I am still very new to hunting and wet between the ears sort of thing.

Ok here goes, I set up a new deer decoy and i forgot to wear gloves?

Can I fix my mistake? I did happen to spray the buck bomb "Doe Estrus" around the deer and on it's bum. It's a female doe and a buck with detectable antlers.

"Also" Why did the doe decoy come with removable antlers? And when should I use the Antlers?

So any tips and Advice is mucho appreciated!

bghunter777 11-01-2013 11:53 AM

Putting it up without gloves should not be a problem toss the antlers on her and she will look like a young buck in my experience bucks respond better to a buck than a doe.

The Green Horn Hunter 11-01-2013 11:59 AM

Originally Posted by bghunter777 (Post 4094064)
Putting it up without gloves should not be a problem toss the antlers on her and she will look like a young buck in my experience bucks respond better to a buck than a doe.

Really? I wouldn;t image since the rut has started, Buck is looking to have sex with a doe. May I ask why they respond better?

Lunkerdog 11-01-2013 12:11 PM

Originally Posted by The Green Horn Hunter (Post 4094065)
Really? I wouldn;t image since the rut has started, Buck is looking to have sex with a doe. May I ask why they respond better?

Bucks are also trying to defend their territory, a dominant buck will try to run off another buck in it's territory at this time of year.

Right now in my region we're right on the edge of the end of the territorial phase, and the beginning of the primary breeding phase of the rut.