Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
New Hunter here, could use some thoughts on my hunting property >

New Hunter here, could use some thoughts on my hunting property

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New Hunter here, could use some thoughts on my hunting property

Old 10-17-2013, 01:14 PM
Spike

Default New Hunter here, could use some thoughts on my hunting property

I wanted to say that I'm new to deer hunting and was looking for a little help on this new property I have received permission to hunt on. It was an old horse farm, roughly about 50 acres and it is completely overgrown now and completely unused. I have just recently been out there and could see movement just from walking on the property. Since I'm new to all this I didn't know where was the best spot to put a ground blind up at or potentially a tree stand. If someone could help me out with their opinions that would be awesome!
Attachment 26884

Last edited by KZ1988; 11-19-2013 at 03:18 PM.
Old 10-17-2013, 01:44 PM
Fork Horn

Read and learn and know what to look for. Signs (rubs, scrapes, trails & tracks, bedding areas, etc).

Then when you know what you're looking for get in there and scout it and look for signs. Find a spot that looks good to you and there are signs of deer traveling through and put you a stand near it. Maybe a corn pile if it's legal there.
Old 10-17-2013, 03:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Looks like a cool place. Definately huntable. With my picture the red is where I would start with my stands. The yellow is possible bedding areas. Green is where I would put a food plot. Good luck.
Attached Thumbnails New Hunter here, could use some thoughts on my hunting property-image.jpg  

Last edited by deernutz; 10-18-2013 at 07:35 AM.
Old 10-17-2013, 03:44 PM
Nontypical Buck