Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

noobie crossbow advice?

Old 10-16-2013, 06:01 AM
Spike

Question noobie crossbow advice?

Hi All,
I am new to the hunting realm. My 12year old son has been hounding me for awhile and we bought a crossbow. I would like to get us bows and some rifles down the road But as of now we are trying to get started on a shoe string budget. I live in Northeast GA and plan to hunt some of the WMA'a around here. I have already spent a ton and have nothing. As an angler for 10 years I already know how THAT story goes.
So a couple of starter ?'s

Ground blind or tree stand?

What to buy next?
We have : crossbow; target, dozen 20" arrows, 3 broad heads, camouflage clothes, scent block spray, hunter shampo/soap/deodorant

Thanks In Advance for any replys
Old 10-16-2013, 07:47 AM
Spike

ya, don't use crossbows. but in all reality I would take a tree stand over ground blind anytime. You see so much further. You can see deer moving in places that you wouldnt in a ground blind.

But if your hunting together then a ground blind is easier.
Old 10-16-2013, 10:58 AM
Spike

Thanks for the reply. I was thinking of getting a cheap tent style pop up blind and working our way up^^^ by investing tree stands later. Right now was just wanting to get out there and Hunt. We have been target practicing and reading a lot on forums such as this one.
Old 10-16-2013, 11:10 AM
Typical Buck

I prefer tree stands, but mostly its personal preferance. I can see how hunting together with your son, a blind might be preferable.

As far as what to buy next, the only thing I don't see on the list that I'd consider necessary is a good knife (and learn how to use it (check Youtube for fielddressing videos)). And a rope to drag a doe with or maybe some kind of cart (nice, not necessary).
Old 10-16-2013, 03:27 PM
Nontypical Buck