HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Hello will a single shot 12 gauge be an efficient hunter on whitetails? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/385723-hello-will-single-shot-12-gauge-efficient-hunter-whitetails.html)

MrAwesomeHunterGuyPerson 10-05-2013 06:19 PM

Hello will a single shot 12 gauge be an efficient hunter on whitetails?

1 Attachment(s)
hello im 13 and going hunting with my uncle... could i use my 12 ga singleshot ( h and r topper 158) smoothbore and loaded with 2 3/4 one ounce slugs, take down a deer accurately, and efficiently?

its got a bead sight...
what would be the max range i could shoot at, and could i attach a scope?

Murby 10-05-2013 06:44 PM

Well I'm no shotgun expert but, one shot is all you should ever need, so yes, it should work fine if you're using rifled slugs.
A scope would be a nice addition.
I wouldn't shoot past 50 yards. You'll have to play with it to find out what slugs it shoots best.

MrAwesomeHunterGuyPerson 10-05-2013 06:54 PM

Originally Posted by Murby (Post 4086520)
Well I'm no shotgun expert but, one shot is all you should ever need, so yes, it should work fine if you're using rifled slugs.
A scope would be a nice addition.
I wouldn't shoot past 50 yards. You'll have to play with it to find out what slugs it shoots best.

how would i mount a scope

ihookem1 10-05-2013 07:07 PM

Try shooting it. SOme of those H&R's are accurate , some aren't. I shot my first deer with a 20 ga. It ran a bit and tipped over.

MrAwesomeHunterGuyPerson 10-05-2013 07:40 PM

Originally Posted by ihookem1 (Post 4086529)
Try shooting it. SOme of those H&R's are accurate , some aren't. I shot my first deer with a 20 ga. It ran a bit and tipped over.

what type of shells, and could i mount a scope?

Gunplummer 10-06-2013 04:53 AM