Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Am I missing the signs?

Old 09-15-2013, 06:50 PM
Spike

Default Am I missing the signs?

I am very new to hunting and I have very little knowledge in hunting whitetails. I have been reading about signs and I can now some what see the signs of game trails. I am not seeing any scrapes or rubs. Am I not looking hard enough or am I in the wrong places? I need all the help I can get.
Old 09-16-2013, 02:03 AM
Nontypical Buck

Too early for scrapes and rubs. Except to rub the velvet off their antlers, bucks don't start doing that till mid to late October here. perhaps later if you are farther south.
Old 09-16-2013, 02:11 AM
Nontypical Buck

I checked my deer cam last week and the bucks were still in velvet. Maybe things are farther along where you live.

My best advice, when the season starts, is finding the most used deer trail and sitting all day in a climbing treestand. That has been the number one venison on table thing I do. If you want big bucks it takes hard earned experience or blind luck.
Old 09-16-2013, 04:15 AM
Fork Horn

In Pa we have been finding rubs for almost 2 weeks.
Old 09-16-2013, 04:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

Not much for rubs around here yet... look for well-used trails, bedding areas, poo, etc.
Old 09-16-2013, 03:36 PM
Spike

That is my issue because I only have access to public land and the wma I hunt on is quality buck only with four points or more on each side.
Old 09-16-2013, 03:54 PM
Typical Buck