Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Anyone good at reading topo?

Old 06-07-2013, 06:06 AM
Spike

Default Anyone good at reading topo?

I have a new area to hunt 2 hours away. It's a ridge and I'm used to hunting fields so I'm lost. I have a pic of topo but don't know what I'm looking at. Can someone point me in the right direction on where to look for stand locations? It's far away and any time I can save would be awesome. Thank you
Attached Thumbnails Anyone good at reading topo?-image.jpg  
Old 06-07-2013, 07:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

I’m no expert on this, but here’s what I’m seeing—I write this as if you’ve never seen a topo map. Skip down to the last paragraph if you know the basics:

Notice the two creeks running north-south. Look to the one on the east and just west of it is a brown line. That’s an elevation line. Just to the east of that is another with “1100” marked on it. That’s 1100 ft. above sea level. There’s also another line marked 1200 for that elevation. The other lines are the increments in between. The closer they are, the steeper a slope. The farther away, the flatter it is.

You’ll notice the lines often form shapes like this: < or >. They may face any direction. Those are ravines and gullies. If you go to east of the intersection of the two black lines, you’ll see one. The ravine runs eastward down toward the eastern creek. Notice on the other side of the “crosshair,” they run the other direction, though they aren’t pronounced.

Along the vertical crosshair, you’ll see a couple of circles and one enclosed, weird shaped figure. The “15” actually touches a long arm of it. These are high points. On other pieces of ground, they can be depressions. You just have to figure that out based on elevation markings.