Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Are you a stubborn hunter?

Old 09-17-2003, 08:29 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Are you a stubborn hunter?

I know without a doubt I have some faults when it comes to deer hunting. I have been hunting for many years and I always try not to commit the same stupid mistake twice. That being said, I think the one true fault I (might) have...I hate to admit it...is that I tend to overhunt an area. I become very stubborn when it comes to relocating. I have shot deer because I have decided to stay put but honestly, there were time when I knew it was time to move and I decided against it. If I was successful in the past from the same treestand, I have tendency to hunt it longer than I probably should. I am a very, very patient hunter and this could actually work against me when it comes to moving to a different area. Anyone else have these same tendencies or are you the type that moves without any guilt?
Old 09-17-2003, 08:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Are you a stubborn hunter?

Moving is easy, if you have other spots that you have confidence in. For me, I have several spots that I know can and will yield deer, so, if I' m not seeing action at one, it is very easy to relocate. Just scout out a few different areas and hopefully you will find at least a couple that you will find that will give you confidense enough to move if needed.
Old 09-17-2003, 10:44 AM
Nontypical Buck

I am having a very tough time breaking my habit of always returning to the same spot. I was taught that if you sit there long enough, a deer will come by. And for the most part that is very true for my best spot. I know that even if it goes cold for a few days, if I keep going back I will shoot something. I have been doing a better job at bouncing to different spots.
Old 09-17-2003, 10:47 AM
Nontypical Buck