Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

My first buck

Old 11-30-2012, 06:30 PM
Spike

Default My first buck

Ok ok I know its nothing special, but its my first buck.

I first hunted at age 14 with my uncle. Between the ages of 14-20 I hunted a few years and took a couple does over that time. Then I joined the Army and never had private land to hunt and being a beginner I was too nervous to hunt public land. We just recently got moved to WV for the Army and were lucky enough to find a house on 88 acres so I decided to give it another shot. I spent lots of time scouting deer and trying to figure out their patterns. I had been watching a nice 8 point on camera for a few weeks and he was definitely my goal.

Opening morning of gun season I was too excited to sleep and got to the stand a little earlier than I planned. I ended up being in the stand about an hour before day light. It was great watching the woods come to life as the sun came out though. Almost instantly I had deer all over me. I was having a hard time telling where deer were coming from because there were squirrels everywhere. As I was watching a bunch of does and a small buck feeding in front of me I decided to grab my 270 in case the 8 point made an appearance. The tree I was in had me hidden from the feeding deer so I wasnt too worried about them seeing me. Sure enough, as soon as I moved I hear crashing and deer running from behind me. I look back just in time to see the 8 point showing me his white flag. OOOPS!