Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

When to eat deer meat.

Old 08-30-2012, 08:25 PM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by Gunplummer
When I was a kid the old guys would not hunt rabbits until a good frost to "Kill the worms".
Not sure about that, but as a rule I won't hunt them til' snow hits so they won't have as many fleas!
As far as fur not being prime, I never heard of the insect eggs. I always assumed that prime fur is just the thick winter coat!
Awe man, now I'm gettin the trappin' bug too! Time to start boiling traps!!
Old 08-31-2012, 06:34 AM
Spike

I've been a professional chef for 25 years and have never heard of this.
Getting it to the fridge quick is to cool down the meat so that bacteria does not begin to grow and spoil some of your meat.
Most wild game does not need to hang for any specific time as there is not the same ammount of connective tissue as in beef. So a day or two is plenty for hanging. I process my own venison and I find it much easier to work with if the meat is well cooled and firmed up.
As far as early season vs late season, you will find perhaps a difference in flavour mainly due to diet and fat content.
Hope this helps.
Old 09-01-2012, 07:07 AM
Nontypical Buck

What ? Have eaten deer for 60+ years .... never heard of such. All I do is get my deer meat cleaned and cooled off ASAP. Never waited a year to chomp into a good deer steak ???? Heck many, many time have cooked back strap steaks or fried up some liver strips within a few hours of the kill ... and I am still here .
Old 09-01-2012, 07:32 PM
Spike

Wow...that is absurd. Not sure who told you that but, they were talking out their...
Old 09-02-2012, 02:07 PM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by Gunplummer